Darlington School: Menus
 
Week | Month | Major Events |
Major Events for 2018-2019
Residential Move-in Day (returning and new)
Friday, August 17

Upper School Student Orientation for all 9th Grade and New Students
Saturday, August 18

Purple Tie Affair (One-School Fundraiser)
Saturday, August 18

First Day of Classes
Monday, August 20

Labor Day Holiday (school closed)
Monday, September 3

Columbus Day (school closed)
Monday, October 8

PSAT Administration
Wednesday, October 10, 8 a.m.–Noon
Required of students grades 9–11; Required activity for seniors

Alumni Weekend
Friday, October 12, through Sunday, October 14

Thanksgiving Break
Saturday, November 17, through Monday, November 26
Residential houses close Saturday, November 17
Full day of classes Friday, November 16; classes resume Tuesday, November 27
Houses open Monday, November 26;
Faculty/staff return Monday, November 26 for Professional Development Day

Upper School First Semester Ends
Full day of classes Wednesday, December 19
Houses close Thursday, December 20 at 1 p.m.
Upper School Faculty and Staff Professional Development Day

Pre K to 8th First Semester Ends
Half day of classes Thursday December 20

Christmas Break
Thursday, December 20, through Sunday, January 6
Classes resume Monday, January 7;
Residential Houses open Sunday, January 6

Second Semester
Classes resume Monday, January 7;
Residential Houses open Sunday, January 6;

Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday (school closed)
Monday, January 21

Winter Musical
Friday, February 15, through Sunday, February 17

Spring Break
Saturday, March 9, through Monday, March 18
Full day of classes Friday, March 8; Houses close Saturday, March 9;
Houses open Monday, March 18; Classes resume Tuesday, March 19. Faculty/staff return Monday, March 18, for Professional Development Day

Good Friday (school closed)
Friday, April 19

Prom
Saturday, April 27

Advanced Placement Exams
Monday, May 6, through Friday, May 17 (anticipated date)

Upper School Honors Day
Friday, May 17, 1:30 p.m., Morris Chapel

Baccalaureate
Friday, May 17, 7 p.m., Morris Chapel

Commencement Exercises
Saturday, May 18 9:30 a.m., Morris Chapel Lawn
(Rain location: A.J. Huffman Center)

Last Day of School
Thursday, May 23 Houses close Friday, May 24, 1 p.m.

School Year Ends
Friday, May 24 Professional Development Day for Faculty/Staff


Boarding Student Travel Dates for 2018-2019
Houses Open for Invited Varsity Fall Athletes
To be determined

Invited Student Leaders Return by 5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Boarding Student Move-in Day by 5 p.m.
Friday, August 17, 2018

Thanksgiving Break begins after classes, November 16, 3:30 p.m.
Friday, November 16, 2018
The Houses will be closed for this vacation.
Boarding students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on the November 17.
The Houses reopen on Monday, November 26, 2018. Students must return by 9 p.m.
Classes resume Tuesday, November 27, 2018.

Christmas Break begins after classes, 3:30 p.m. on December 19
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
The Houses will be closed for this vacation.
Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on December 20.
The Houses reopen on January 6, 2019. Students must return by 9 p.m.
Classes resume January 7, 2019.

Spring Break begins after classes, 3:30 p.m. on March 8
Friday, March 8, 2019
The Houses will be closed for this vacation.
Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on Saturday, March 9, 2019.
The Houses reopen on Monday, March 18, 2019. Students must return by 9 p.m.
Classes resume Tuesday, March 19, 2019.

Last Day of School; Summer vacation begins after the last exam (noon) on Thursday, May 23
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Residential students must leave campus by 1 p.m. on Friday, May 24.