Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Georgia Brown Dinner honors faculty, staff
Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Rome, GA
Some text some message..

Brown Dinner honors faculty, staff

May 6, 2022 | 1536 views

Brown Award winners Brant Evans, Al Shorey, Jennifer Bagby, Paige Rogers and Alli Holst

Darlington School honored outstanding faculty and staff members at the annual Brown Faculty Appreciation Dinner, hosted by the Board of Trustees on Thursday, May 5.

The following faculty and staff members were recognized for their five-year anniversaries: Andrew Beckman, Brent Bell, Kristen Bell, Tori Brown, Sam Clark, Kristy Garrett, Chloe Garth-Fielder, Barbara Kuckhoff, Jennifer Luitwieler, Katie Merritt, Becks Nolin, Reid Owens, Carson Raymond, Melissa Smyly and Jared Willerson, five years; Michael Jacobs, Kaye Lowe, Jess Peer, Paige Rogers and Mark Tunnell, 10 years; Ivy Brewer, Cindy Gordon, Kevin Hunt, Julie Lucas (‘97) and Paige Peppers, 15 years; Vicki Vincent, Brian Inman and Tara Inman, 20 years; and Sam Moss (‘63), 40 years. 

Retiring faculty member Sam Moss was celebrated for his service to Darlington. 

Beachum Master Teaching Awards were presented to Ashley Evans, middle grades Spanish teacher, and Beth Wardlaw, technology integration coordinator. They were nominated by faculty and selected by the head of school, the assistant head of school for academic resources, and the division directors. The Beachum Award honors a member of the faculty who has accomplished something exceptional in his or her teaching, devoting time beyond the call of duty to students and to the teaching profession. This accomplishment may be in the form of extraordinary efforts to build student character or in the form of innovative programs. Established in 2004 by Mary (McCamy) Beachum (’63T), Robert A. Beachum (’94) and Julia Beachum, the Edward N. Beachum (’63) Master Teacher Award honors the Darlington alumnus and faculty member (1972-1989). 

The George W. Awsumb Faculty Award was presented to Leigh Hadaway, Upper School history teacher. Established anonymously in 1999 by a Darlington alumnus, the Awsumb Award is presented to a faculty member who exemplifies a personal commitment to the education and well-being of the superior and average student alike. This commitment is demonstrated by the unselfish desire of the faculty member to instruct and challenge students in both a professional and enthusiastic manner and by the ability of the faculty member to raise the overall level of education and quality of life at Darlington. The commitment is further demonstrated by the unselfish giving of time and energy to many diverse extracurricular activities and by the ability of the faculty member to empower his or her students with self-confidence and instill in them the desire to learn while not only at Darlington, but also for a lifetime. The award is given in the spirit of George W. Awsumb, Darlington faculty member from 1962-2009, and the recipient is selected by the head of school.

James Douglas Brown Jr. Faculty Awards were presented to Jennifer Bagby, assistant director of day admission for Pre-K to 5; Brant Evans, dean of student life and Upper School history teacher; Alli Holst, personal counselor; Paige Rogers, library associate for Pre-K to 8; and Al Shorey, math department chair. Nominated by colleagues and selected by the head of school, the assistant head of school for academic resources, and the division directors, a Brown Award recipient is one who has served the school well, in a competent and skillful manner, and one who has an interest in and a dedication to his or her work with the school and with the students. Brown Awards are endowed by Mr. and Mrs. James Douglas Brown of Ozark, Ala., in memory of their son, James Douglas Brown Jr.

Betsy and Gordon Neville Faculty Awards were presented to Sam Moss ('63), dean of college guidance; Kathy O'Mara, Upper School art teacher; Tommy Atha, assistant athletic director; Beth (Bagby) Smith ('87, LD ’12), pre-K teacher; Kevin Ivester ('87), middle grades math teacher; and Stefan Eady, assistant head of school for academic affairs. Established in January 2021, the Betsy and Gordon Neville Faculty Award is awarded to distinguished members of the Darlington School community who have served the school for 25 years. This award is given in the spirit of Betsy and Gordon Neville, who together served Darlington for 44 years. The Nevilles wholeheartedly believed in the mission of Darlington School and cared for all members of the community. Their years of service reflect the profound dedication, loyalty, and love that they had for Darlington. 

Departing faculty and staff in attendance were also recognized, including Chandler Cryer, Avery Cypress (‘14, LD ‘20), Rebecca Enderle, Michael Jacobs, Andy Lopez, Kelly McDurmon, Anne Marrie McDurmon (‘15), Katie Merritt, Noah Murphy, Beth Pollard, Jordan Walker and Kaitlin Ward.

Click here for photos from the event.