Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Georgia Faculty, staff honored at Brown Dinner
Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Rome, GA
Some text some message..

Faculty, staff honored at Brown Dinner

May 5, 2011 | 1896 views

Headmaster Tom Whitworth presents Brown Awards to Jody Deaton and Bebe Cline.

Darlington School honored outstanding faculty and staff members at the annual Brown Faculty Appreciation Dinner, hosted by the Board of Trustees on Thursday, May 5.

James Douglas Brown Jr. Faculty Awards were presented to Jean Bonnyman, Upper School learning specialist; Madge Crawford, executive assistant to the dean of college guidance; Bebe Cline, fifth-grade teacher; and Jody Deaton, second-grade teacher. Nominated by colleagues and selected by the president, headmaster and principals of the Lower and Middle Schools, a Brown Award recipient is one who has served the School well, in a competent and skillful manner, and one who has an interest in and a dedication to his or her work with the School and with the students. Brown Awards are endowed by Mr. And Mrs. James Douglas Brown of Ozark, Ala., in memory of their son, James Douglas Brown Jr.

The Beachum Master Teaching Award was presented to Alice Clements, third-grade teacher, and Beth Smith, pre-K teacher. They were nominated by faculty and selected by the president, headmaster and principals of the Lower and Middle Schools. The Beachum Award honors a member of the faculty who has accomplished something exceptional in his or her teaching, devoting time beyond the call of duty to students and to the teaching profession. This accomplishment may be in the form of extraordinary efforts to build student character or in the form of innovative programs. Established in 2004 by Mary McCamy Beachum (’63T), Robert A. Beachum (’94) and Julia Beachum, the Edward N. Beachum ’63 Master Teacher Award honors the Darlington alumnus and faculty member (1972-1989).

The George W. Awsumb Faculty Award was presented to Lisa Goldin, Middle School learning specialist. Established anonymously in June 1999 by a Darlington alumnus, the Awsumb Award is presented to a faculty member who exemplifies a personal commitment to the education and well being of the superior and average student alike. This commitment is demonstrated by the unselfish desire of the faculty member to instruct and challenge students in both a professional and enthusiastic manner and by the ability of the faculty member to raise the overall level of education and quality of life at Darlington. The commitment is further demonstrated by the unselfish giving of time and energy to many diverse extracurricular activities and by the ability of the faculty member to empower his or her students with self-confidence and instill in them the desire to learn while not only at Darlington, but also for a lifetime. The award is given in the spirit of George W. Awsumb, Darlington faculty member from 1962-2009, and the recipient is selected by the headmaster.

The following faculty and staff members were recognized for their five-year anniversaries: Chris Allen, Julie Allen, Steve Bartholomew, Jean Bonnyman, Annie Camp, Debbie Greeson, Lisa Goldin, Ivey Harrison, Kent Harrison, Chris Holloway, Marcus Holmes, Melinda Holmes, Julia Hopkins, Renee Hutchins, Michelle Major, Tim McCann, Rebekah Montgomery, Jessica Parish, Beth Pollard, Melissa Robinson, Keith Trotter, Chad Woods, five years; Flo Anthony, Barbara Barfield, Sally Muschamp, Angie Milford, James Milford, Angela Pieroni, Kim Tunnell, 10 years; Reba Barnes, Stefan Eady, Denise Evans, Stephanie Fleming, Renate Starr, 15 years; Raymond Murray, Craig Schmidt, 25 years; David Powell, 30 years. Retiree Bob Rogers was also acknowledged for 37 years of service to Darlington.